~Earth Cafe Review~

What comes to mind when you hear words like: “Raw Foods” -“Vegan“- Sugar Free“- and “Healthy“? If you are like most people today, you might think, well, I wish I could eat healthier, but I don’t want to give up all the yummy flavor!” or maybe, “Gee, that is great that some can eat like that, but …it’s too difficult and time consuming to eat that healthy.”

I don’t know about you, but when hear those words, like many others, I think “tasteless” and “diet!” (shudder at the thought!) 😛  Which might seem strange coming from the daughter of self-proclaimed hippies, who wore paisley and had a stock of wheat germ, carob chips, and veggies on hand at all times, but over the year and being on my own,  I became very accustomed to eating what was fast, convenient, and just plain “unhealthy!

So when I was asked if I would like to do a review for a company named Earth Cafe, of their cheese cakes, at first I was like “Heck yes!” I am myself a self-proclaimed foodie, I love and live for trying different foods!  But after I agreed to try their products, I began to worry, just a bit, “Raw cheese cake? how on earth do you make cheesecake without dairy, without sugar? What if I don’t like it?”  After talking my self down, I decided it would be ok, I would try it and if I didn’t like it I would give an honest and fair review of the products and call it a day….

About 4 days later a package was delivered, I wasn’t sure what to expect! Would it be one cheese cake, would it be little bites size “try-it” pieces? Much to my surprise, when I opened the awesome silver cooler with dry ice as the freeze (and yes I did play with the dry ice..but I will tell you about that later!) I was delighted to find 6 individually packaged, full size slices of what looked like “regular” cheese cake, all in different flavors! WOOT! Uber Score! I told my self, “this might be fun!”

Since they were frozen I placed them in the fridge to defrost and called a few of my friends to come over later that day, I would need more than just my opinion to give it a fair shot!

When the cheesecakes were ready and my friends and some family had arrived I placed the deserts on a plate.  They looked wonderful! like gourmet slices of wonderfulness! I presented them to the crowd (I say crowd, but it was more like 5 people)  They ooooo-ed and awwhhh-ed each with a tiny fork in hand,  I took the first bite,  of  “find your thrill on blueberry hillf” flavor…everyone waited to see my reaction, took a bite…eyes got big…then a huge smile!  I was shocked! no…wait! I was amazed! It was wonderfully,even sinfully delish!

As everyone began sampling the 6 flavors; Cali style Lemon, Peach Passion Peace pie, Rockin’ raspberry, Strawberry Fields Forever, Find Your Thrill on Blueberry Hill, and “Who’s Your Daddy” (carob flavor) curious faces turned to delighted and amazed faces! With lots of “mmmmm’s” and “yummo’s” and questions like “What is in this?” and statements like, “No WAY is this Vegan or Raw!” We just could not believe how flavorful, creamy and with just the right richness these cheesecake were! And the crust!! Such chewy, nutty, crunchiness!

Then I pulled out the boxes so we could all read the ingredients of each, again we were amazed… Ingredients: Soaked Cashews, Coconut, Coconut Butter, Agave, Soaked Pecans, Soaked Walnuts, Lemon, vanilla Bean Extract, Cinnamon, Lecithin, Sea Salt. (lemon Cheesecake) That was it! no hidden anything! The only variables in each were the flavors, in the blueberry, there were blueberries, in the carobcarob! and so on… ALL NATURAL, GLUTEN FREE, RAW, DAIRY FREE!   BELIEVE IT! 🙂

Needless to say…we were left amazed, happy, satisfied and yes…wanting more.  we all agreed that if eating health and raw was anything like this, we could actually do it…and LOVE IT! There are a couple other flavors that I did not get to try, but I will be going to Mother’s Market soon to pick them up!

So my honest opinion of Earth’s Cafe Raw Cheesecake? If given the choice between “regular cheesecake and Earth Cafe’s Cheesecake…I would choose Earth Cafe, every time!

You can check out Earth’s Cafe here Earth Cafe

Also, if you haven’t added them on Twitter you should totally do that now! Craig is an awesome guy and would be thrilled to answer any of your questions about their products!

*Note: This review is my honest opinion of Earth Cafe’s cheesecake, I did not receive any product, services or monetary items for my opinion other than 6 pieces of cheesecake to sample.  Oh! and the dry ice!!! Which I did have a blast with! I straight away put it on a big bowl of water, threw in some glow sticks and took it into the dark bathroom and watched the smokey glow! Hey…It was fun!!! Weeeeeeeeeeee! 😛

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellen Beck
    Apr 11, 2010 @ 23:05:35

    They look great! The peach sounds delish!

    Reply

  2. Jeremy
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 04:07:45

    That looks good! Great review! Wait! Smokey glow?!

    Reply

  3. Susan (5 Minutes for Mom)
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 01:28:30

    Oh my goodness…. those look sooooo delicious!

    Reply

  4. agentNERDY
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 19:44:32

    oh man oh man home girl, those pictures makes me want to reach into my screen and drag a slice out. mee want so bad. Loving the huge selection of cakes! ahhh.. drooolage

    Reply

  5. Amanda T
    May 10, 2010 @ 21:24:06

    OMG!! yummy yummy yummy, I love cheese cake and yum!!!!!!!

    Reply

  6. amber
    May 14, 2010 @ 20:26:51

    OMG these look so good…I think I might be drooling.
    amber 🙂

    Reply

  7. hedgehogi
    May 17, 2010 @ 07:18:11

    I still want to try Earth Cafe cheesecakes! There are a few places in TX but not to close!!

    Reply

  8. Judy Bradley
    May 18, 2010 @ 04:21:02

    Those pictures sure look yummy! I must admit I would have had to really think about trying them too. But they sound really delicious! Do they sell everywhere, I wonder. Will have to check it out. Still can’t imagine dairy free cheesecake!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

Barefoot Mommies
