~ALoha Friday~ Are you truly thankful?

Thanksgiving is the perfect time to reflect on all the things we are so thankful for, family, health, employment, good food, and so on. But are we truly thankful? I mean thankful for the little things, the over-looked blessings?

 We are so wonderfully blessed, first off, to live in a country where we are free, free to live how we want, worship how we want, dress and express ourselves as we want.  We are incredibly blessed to the point of being spoiled, we have clean water (not only to drink, but to bath in!) we have warm blankets on cold nights, we have hot coffee in the mornings,  we have remote controls to change the channels and turn off the lights, electric fans to cool us in the heat, along with ice to chill our drinks on a hot summer’s day…The list goes on and on. 

So often I find myself complaining about the silliest things, things that I should be so very thankful for, these wonderful “extras” are privileges, not “rights”.  These things are not “owed” to us, it makes me sad to see that most people today, including myself at times, have such a sense of entitlement. 

I have been so blessed in my life, my family is healthy, I live between 2 of the most beautiful place on earth, I have every privilege I can imagine, and yet, at times I too complain, more often than I care to admit.  I need to remind myself, from time to time, to think about how incredibly blessed I am, each and every day..for not only the big things, but the little things that most days I overlook… chap stick for my dry lips, a wash cloth to wash my face, a safe trip to and from work, that my son makes it through the day and gets home safe, for fuzzy socks to warm my toes, for candles and matches just in case the lights go out. 

So my question for you today is, “What little things that you may have overlooked,  are you truly thankful for?”   Happy Aloha Friday my friendstoday, I am thankful for you, may your days be blessed.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paula
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 11:51:52

    My feet .. I might not have a car but at least I do have 2 feet so I can walk everywhere! And I’m blessed that I can! Thank you for this post I’ll read it everytime I Complain thank you sweetie 🙂

    Reply

  2. Mary C.
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 11:58:53

    That I can make quick meals for my family just by combining two pieces of bread with meat, pimento cheese, or egg salad, etc. for each person. That I have caffeine in delicious drinks, chocolate, etc. for a quick wake me up! That warm hugs from loved ones can make my worries fly away. I’m thankful for my little heater to keep my feet warm on cold days…..it is almost an extension of my body…where I go, it follows…no joke lol! These are a few little things that I’m soooooo thankful for! Thanks for sharing all the little things you are thankful for! I loved reading about them. Especially, that your son makes it safely through each day…this is something I pray for my son, hubby and daughter-in-law all the time!

    Reply

  3. HedgeHogi
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 12:05:10

    I’m thankful that I have anything to eat. That I am warm with warm clothes and running water. I should remember that when I start to complain or whine. When I grew up I didn’t have those things all the time! Little things Im thankful for are Burts Bee chapstick. Coffee-Mate! Internet and my cell phone! Reeses Peanut Butter Cups!

    Thanks luv! Great Reminder !

    Reply

  4. Joanna Smith
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 12:50:40

    Hi luv! You are so right, so often we ignore the simple things in life that we have that we should be thankful for and we don’t even realize how lucky we are to have them. I am actually kinda of obsessed with thanking “God” and my “Angels” everyday for all the “simple” things I have in life. Some of those “things” I give thanks for are that I was lucky enough to have 2 parents that have always loved me and supported me emotionally all my life, always encouraging me to follow my dreams and passions and never judging me even if they felt they were unattainable. I owe so much of my successes in life to them for their faith and belief in me. I know many of my friends did not have that type of upbringing and I am so thankful always to them for that. I am also thankful to husband who literally changed my life the very day I met him. I met him asking him for directions {when we were in college} to a building where I was already late for a class, and he walked me there to make sure I found it okay, and he has been helping and guiding me thru life ever since! God and my Angels were looking out for me that day, as I feel fate was at it’s finest at that very moment.

    Okay, I could list 100 more things in life that I am thankful for but to me it is the people in my life that make the most profound difference. I could live without anything else but the bare necessities in life, as long as they are there by my side!!

    Thank you for letting me share some of my thoughts with you all!

    ~Joanna
    xoxo

    Reply

  5. Jeremy
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 13:24:59

    Sunsets! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Michelle
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 13:43:20

    So thankful for my family! Too often I take it for granted what an amazing family I am blessed with. Getting together for thanksgiving is such a warm, supportive feeling, and there is nothing in life more important than that.
    Great post 🙂

    Reply

  7. Beth @ TheAngelForever
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 14:44:48

    I am thankful for supportive family that lives near us. So many of my friends do not have this in my life and we are so blessed to have it.

    Reply

  8. @tshaka_zulu
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 18:19:37

    I’m thankful that everyday I get the opportunity to get up and out of my bed and do better and be better than the previous day. Sometimes I fall flat on my face and other times I don’t. Either way, I’m blessed though because I’ve learned that there’s always a lesson to learn and I try to find it and I’m quite thankful when I do.

    Thank you for this thoughtful post!

    Reply

  9. stuffsmart
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 22:28:18

    You are so right! I’m often highly stressed and don’t take time to be thankful for the many blessings that I have. I have been trying to spend more time on being thankful and less on being stressed.

    Reply

  10. Sara Broers
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 19:26:56

    Nice post! It seems easier to complain at times. When in all reality, we have much to be thankful for!

    Reply

  11. Clay C
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 21:24:17

    Thankful for YOU! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

Barefoot Mommies
