~Aloha Friday~ How Do You Let It Go?

Happy Aloha Friday To My Blog & Twitter Ohana!

After 2 very stressful days of dealing with the Sears repair dept, I seriously felt like I was going to have a mini volcanic eruption emotionally and mentally.  This situation got me thinking about ways to calm down and let go of the built up frustrations of situations like this….pray, have a drink, talk yourself down, cry?

So my question for you today is…. “What do you do to not let the stress and frustration take over, or how do you let it go after it has already happened?”

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paula
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 23:25:00

    Well I write it down how mad I am I have a notebook filled with times I get mad it let’s me get it out but not hurting anyone or anyone seeing lol and I go for walks 😉 I hope you can find a way 🙂

    Reply

  2. Rochelle
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 23:42:34

    If I am really stressed, talking about it to a friend/family helps. I love going to the gym to de-stress and get out my frustration. Doing something I love like a hobby helps me too. I guess I do have a lot of ways I de-stress lol.

    Reply

  3. Stacy (the Random Cool Chick)
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 03:27:54

    Definitely venting to a friend or loved one always seems to help (maybe not so much for them, but definitely for you…*grin!*) And if it’s something that might need to be brought to the attention of management, write a letter! 🙂

    Aloha: Shopping

    Reply

  4. Kari
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 04:52:27

    I have a hard time with this – I tend to hold things in and hold grudges and stay stressed. Usually, I will try to talk to my friend and vent or sometimes if it’s really bad, I’ll have a good cry.

    Have a nice weekend!

    Reply

  5. Beth @ TheAngelForever
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 06:35:20

    It really depends on the situation. If it is not something very serious, a little knitting while listening to an audio book will help. If it is more serious, it can take time to get over it (assuming I can).

    Reply

  6. Charlotte | Life's a Charm!
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 07:05:51

    deep breaths usually helps for me. and a moment of silence. they keep me calm.

    Reply

  7. pssvirtual
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 07:30:32

    I agree with Beth about the situation. Usually I give myself the time to think it thoroughly over and play it out in my mind if I have and then make a verbal commitment to say okay, enough. Other times, I go see a movie or something fun to make myself feel better.

    Reply

  8. angie
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 07:55:49

    wow this one is a hard one because I have been in those positions before I think communication, possibly taking a break and always praying

    Reply

  9. Jen E @ mommablogsalot
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 08:40:31

    Depends on the situation. When my kids are stressing me out, one tip I learned in a magazine was to remember their age and SAY it outloud. Like “What are you FOUR years old?” I found that normally after saying that, I’d think “Wow they are really just acting like a normal four year old.” Also my son would usually say something cute like “No, I’m 4 and a quarter!” and that would make me laugh.

    I also recommend deep breathing and yoga and taking a walk outside.

    Reply

  10. Harriet
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 09:11:59

    I find that exercise is the best prevention and remedy for stress.

    Have a great Friday!

    Reply

  11. Denise
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 09:53:39

    Cry, nap, watch something to take my mind off of it, take a warm bath

    Reply

  12. JamericanSpice
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 10:12:17

    I”m learning to do the deep breaths while counting to 10 until I calm down because I do have anger issues and I don’t want it passed on to my kids.

    Apparently when I’m stressed and angry, I stop breathing and my brain isn’t getting enough oxygen, which makes an explosion much more likely.

    Reply

  13. Bruce Sallan
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 11:11:48

    Drinking NEVER works. For me, it’s always the endorphins of exercise so going for walk or doing something a bit harder is the best or combining exercise with nature like skiing or a run on the beach is truly the tonic for me!

    Reply

  14. cuzinlogic
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 12:19:21

    I usually listen to jazz, take a walk at the park or read a book. They all help me forget what I was stressed about.

    Reply

  15. Hedgehogi
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 14:52:33

    I love to exercise takes my mind off things. Also sometimes take a nap or talk to a friend. Helps me rehash it and I feel better.

    Reply

  16. ewffan
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 21:43:06

    I slap on my ipod and listen to my favorite music and chill out in my bedroom all by myself. Cause if not, I would probably have a heart attack and blow up on innocent people that were in my way. Yeah favorite tunes, a nice cold beverage, and then I end up singing and dancing—–>bye bye stress.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

Barefoot Mommies
