~Aloha Friday~ My last of 2010

As we bid “Aloha” to 2010, with all of it’s ups and downs, hopefully we can look back at all of the many blessing it has allowed us.. I thank God that we made it through, alive and healthy and that I have a chance to start a new year with a thankful heart full of promise.

I, like all of you, have big hopes and dreams for the upcoming year and have already began making my “Resolution” list.  The list I make is usually long and rarely followed through with, like the usual: get in shape, eat better, spend more time relaxing, more time reading my Bible, spend less, save more..the list goes on and on…

I will of course try to do all of the above, but this year I have just a few that I really want to focus on & make stick..

  • I want to be slow to anger and quick to listen..
  • I want to start & complete my 365 project
  • I want to take a road trip 🙂

I think those are pretty focus worthy and do-able! So that is what I will strive for in the New Year.

So my question for you is, “What is your short list, What is focus worthy for you in 2011?”

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. HedgeHogi
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 11:27:56

    My first goal is to lose all of my baby weight. Right along with organizing my house after we move. Always try to be a better person in whatever ways I think I am slacking on. Thats about it really. 🙂 See you in the New Year luv! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ellie
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 11:41:27

    Lose a few pounds and get fitter. I also want to re-arrange my office, move my desk and bookcases to be more user friendly. I also plan on reading the Bible all the way through. And definitely learn to have more patience.

    Have a Happy and Blessed New Year!

    Reply

  3. Robyn Wright of Robyn's Online World
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 12:09:56

    Great list! My goals for 2011 include exercising daily (new recumbent bike on the way for that even), giving up soda (ack!), staying on top of emails, and keeping my blog stuff all organized and timely.

    Reply

  4. soulfliesfree
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 13:26:19

    Good luck on the 365 project ! Happy New Year and may everyone reach their resolution. Mine is to start my business, travel more, and eat healthy.

    Reply

  5. scotthey@comcast.net
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 13:39:07

    My first and most important is to stick to our family budget no matter what! Sounds simple enough but as we all know new things pop up weekly that we “have” to spend money on. – This year I’m going to try harder

    Second I’m going to try not to stop at McDonald’s or Burger King for lunch on the way home for work anymore. Not only with this help with the family budget but it will also help to keep my girlish figure.

    Happy New year and good luck on your resolutions!

    ~Scott

    Reply

  6. Denise
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 14:00:54

    To keep losing weight and work out more routinely.

    To worry less and trust more

    To read more, internet less

    Reply

  7. Stacy (the Random Cool Chick)
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 15:02:16

    That’s an excellent short list you have there! 🙂

    My ‘short list’ is pretty much to purge all the unnecessary stuff I have – I’m a pack rat, and I need to simplify to make moving back to Seattle next year less stressful. 🙂 Happy New Year!

    Aloha: Happy New Year Resolutions

    Reply

  8. JamericanSpice
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 17:36:09

    I’ll focus on getting myself less invisible. I’m natural at melting into the environment.

    Happy new Year.

    Reply

  9. LittleAnimation
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 13:36:35

    More time with family, more animation, and more commenting on great blogs like this one!!

    Best wishes for a sublime new year darlin’!

    Reply

  10. Amanda O
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 13:39:46

    mine is to be more healthier for my family! Having two boys is so hard as they want to run and play and I want to be able to run after them!

    Reply

  11. Jean @geekbabe
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 13:41:30

    You all have such really personal, high reaching goals! As for me, if I can just manage to get through 2011 without being eaten by dragons I’ll call it a good year. Keep in mind, Dragons are pretty hungry and I don’t run as quick as I used to.

    Reply

  12. Luv_mydachshund
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 13:41:46

    What is your 365 project…and where do you want to go for your road trip? I’d love to go on a road trip in 2011 too!

    Reply

  13. estella miller
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 13:43:13

    Strive to remember to count my blessings every day!

    Reply

  14. cranepuffin
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 13:55:59

    Think before I say something and word it with care (sarcasm occassionally allowed)

    Make time & do things that will make me happy

    Follow through with the lists in my head – wash floors, clean out closets, junk like that – Ugg!

    Reply

  15. Clay C
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 13:21:32

    Well, I have alot already; health, job, beautiful daughter, loving family and friends, but towards the end of 2010 my life opened up, and I hope that 2011 just keeps getting better! I have just a few of things I want to work on:

    Get in better physical shape.
    Do my best at my job and give it my personal all.
    Continue to make all my relationships; family and friends, closer.
    And last but certainly not least… work on procrastination!

    Oh yeah… a road trip sounds nice! 🙂

    Happy 2011!

    Reply

  16. Paula
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 15:21:30

    I want to lose weight and get a home and a good job 🙂

    Reply

  17. lisa moore gee
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 15:22:46

    my goals are to eat healthier, get in better shape, be more patient, and to not procratinate on my school work so much.

    Reply

  18. Rebecca J
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 15:24:46

    My short list is to get healthy and get more organized in 2011, I would also like to take a little vacation it has been a very long time since I have had any kind of real vacation, my youngest graduates this year, so I will feel I have really accomplished something special when he gets done with High school, even though I will be a little sad to see that both of my kids are grown!

    Reply

  19. Veronica Vasquez
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 15:25:14

    My short list is just to focus all of my time & energy on my baby girl Crystina who is due February 11th, just under 6 weeks away! I don’t think there is anything more focus-worthy than that!

    Reply

  20. Kimberly Ciesla
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 15:26:23

    My 1st would be to get caught up on all of my paperwork and try to organize my home office. 2nd would be to work on my physical appearance, namely lose weight and to get more toned. 3rd I want to plan a road trip out west. 4th As I always say “Make a Memory” …this year is a big year for my family, son & daughter graduating and my BIG 29th;) bday! Looking forward to making some special memories with my family ❤ @ciesla504

    Reply

  21. Tracy P
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 15:26:32

    My short list for this year include:

    Spending more time with my family. I have a couple members of my family that just found out they have cancer. So thats a really important one for me.

    Losing more weight. I’ve lost about 50lbs. So if the Christmas candy doesn’t get me I’m hoping to lose a few more dress sizes this year.

    Finishing my college work and starting a part time job when my son starts Preschool in the fall.

    Good luck with your goals!
    Happy 2011 🙂

    Reply

  22. Karla Sceviour
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 15:27:05

    I would like to learn to have more patience,, stop eating so much junk food,chocoalte & chips,start eating healthier,more fruits and veggies and make my son eat healthier as well,,although he do eat way heathier then me,,and I defiantely gotta stop staying up so late on twitter tweeting contests & giveaways,,its not worth it,,gotta get more sleep!! 🙂
    I would also like to save more money so we can go on a nice family vacation the summer..:) And also keep on top of the bills! lol

    Reply

  23. Caitlin
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 15:28:22

    My goals are simple ALWAYS strive to be a better mother, focus on family and as a bonus be skinny 😉

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    Reply

  24. ella
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 15:28:49

    I am looking to start working out, to get out more, and I just went back to school this fall and I currently have a 4.0 gpa and I am looking to transfer. So I hope to find a new school/figure out a direction before the end of 2011.

    Reply

  25. mistysunrise
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 15:32:01

    I would like to see the Rocky Mountains again this year. I love that place. I want to travel alot more this year.

    itsjustme62613 at gmail.com

    Reply

  26. asha marie pena
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 15:33:21

    My goal this year is to make my blog at ashabutterflys.blogspot expand and grow. I also want to save money and go to tennesse. I also want to get my house in order and look wonderful.
    asha.marie@hotmail.com

    Reply

  27. Karen
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 15:38:50

    What is your short list, What is focus worthy for you in 2011?”

    to become organized hopefully before new years next year lol
    (part 2) 😉
    I forgot and clicked ‘post’ too early, I would also like to become active every day (do some kind of exercise, wii fit, elliptical walk whatever) for at least 30 mins. and last but probably most important is to help my family (3 teens and a hubby) to become more positive family, stop all the nit picking and nagging and snotty attitudes towards each other. (I’ll need alot of help with that one but I’m gonna give it a go)

    Those are my 3 most important goals for 2011.

    Reply

  28. allysmama
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 15:44:50

    I have a few resolutions that I plan to keep this year.
    I plan to read the Bible all the way through this year. Our church has a check list and if you follow it, you will be able to easily do it.

    I also want to be more organized. I have made a few purchases that should help me in my quest! I have file boxes, a new notebook, storage shelves and storage boxes ready to roll!

    And I resolve to be more even tempered with my family. I have made a promise to myself to take a deep breath, and think before I react, and to always LISTEN before I open my big mouth!

    These resolutions should be fairly easy to keep, in theory…I know that the hardest resolution to keep will revolve around my mouth, but with God’s help, I can accomplish it!

    ***And that road trip thing you mentioned….Sounds great too!!!***

    Reply

  29. Cathy W.
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 15:58:00

    I want to exercise a little, eat way less than I do now, and get away from the computer more often.

    I want to spend more time helping elderly family members with the things they have trouble doing for themselves.

    I will make every effort to accept the decisions my adult children make (this is very hard for me to do).

    Reply

  30. Janice
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 16:01:26

    1) snack healthier (well, snack less in general, but I can’t guarantee that I’ll keep that one. LOL) which goes hand in hand in being more active
    2) work on better dealing with stress (lots of factors with this one so this is a major goal)

    Reply

  31. Shannon Schulte @sethandshannon1
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 16:09:28

    My short list this year is
    1. Get our family settled somewhere closer to family. Especially since my husband will be getting out of the Navy. We really want to have our kids grow up close to their grandparents.
    2. Put more effort into my blog. I put alot of time into sweepstakes and tend to put that before my blog. I would like to see my blog blossom into something that really helps us financially. Especially since we’ll be covering two mortgage payments when our renters move out.
    3. Spend more time with my family. During the year I tend to spend more evenings working on sweepstakes or at twitter parties. I really want to become more organized and productive during the day so I can spend more evenings playing board games with my kids or watching a movie with my family.

    Reply

  32. Mary C.
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 16:18:52

    Attend Church more.
    Get my sleep patterns changed.

    Get my house more organized.

    And, do more for others.

    @swtthing3

    Reply

  33. Jeana
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 20:50:40

    I don’t typically do “resolutions”. I try to continually try to better myself and make improvements in my life especially in the areas of spending more time with family and stressing over the little stuff much less.

    I hope you are able to meet your goals this year.

    Reply

  34. Tracy @ Ascending Butterfly
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 02:04:44

    I rarely set resolutions anymore, but I have a life list that gets updated annually. I read somewhere that your actual ‘new years’ and ‘new years eve’ is your birthday. That you should set new goals then, in honor of your ‘personal’ new year, so I do that instead of New Years Resolutions and it’s been working much better for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

Barefoot Mommies
